//
you're reading...
Movies

What? A Tribe Movie? Beats, Rhymes & Life: The Travels Of A Tribe Called Quest

Beats, Rhymes & Life: The Travels Of A Tribe Called Quest Documentary/Movie

“Yo, Microphone check one two what is this…” Yup… A Tribe Called Quest. If you claim to be a Hip Hop head or a Rapper/MCDon’t talk to me until you’ve seen this movie. What movie? Beats, Rhymes & Life: The Travels of A Tribe Called Quest, that movie.

With out killing details of the movie, I will be very vague, so NO SPOILERS. But before I talk… here is the trailer 😉

I had a chance to catch the early screening of the movie and man-oh-man, I am happy that I saw it. If you are a fan of ATCQ, or a fan of Hip Hop, then this documentary about one of the illest Hip Hop groups to ever do it, is perfect for you.

Mike Rapaport did a great job with this documentary. You are getting the story behind ATCQ. Like how they came about, the other emcee’s they grew up with, who they were influenced by, the creation process, the family, the problems and most of all, the music.

To the readers of this post, if you’ve never watched or heard of ATCQ, this would be the one group to hear. In today’s Hip Hop / Rap world, there are a lot of things not being brought up to the light. This is one group you should NOT over look.

As an average fan of ATCQ, I always knew about the music. Not sales, or other things, just the music. When watching this documentary, I was back in the 90s, I was feeling the music, other people in the audience were looking at me because I was able to say things (adlibs & hood facts) that only a person that lived it, would know (they were hating).

This movie also told me things that I did not know about the group. The group had some obstacles to overcome & had issues that you normally would hear about with most groups, publicly through the media. Roster changes? Hmmm. Also, you get to see cameo’s during their journey of them becoming a legendary Hip Hop group.

Not only that, you hear about a SECRET RAP GROUP called the Native Tongues, yes I am aware of them, I just did not know the entire roster & you will be informed when you see this.

You will hear from Ludacris, Common, Beastie Boys, Pete Rock, Angie Martinez, Busta Rhymes, ?uest Love (Quest Love of The Roots), Pharrell Williams (N.E.R.D.), Black Thought (The Roots), Monie Love, De La Soul, the Jungle Brothers and more.

So again, with out spoiling the movie for you, I encourage you to get some cash together and GO SEE THIS MOVIE… IF YOU CAN… I hear it is select theaters which sounds like NY/LA.

Oh by the way, the title of the movie is Beats, Rhymes & Life: The Travels of A Tribe Called Quest and the “Beats, Rhymes & Life” part is actually the name of their 4th album released in 1996.

Hope you enjoy the movie. Let me know!

Official Website: http://www.sonyclassics.com/beatsrhymesandlife
IMDB: http://www.imdb.com/title/tt1613023/

About Snow Addy

My name... Snow... Occupation... I get paid to play with websites... Industry... Music Entertainment, the Catalog stuff... but only the best of the catalog. I am a graphic designer at heart & I cheat on my heart with Web Designing, but currently I am cheating on Web Designing with being a Web Master... so who is the Mistress, lol.

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 110 other followers

Choose Your Grave

Latest Tweets

